top of page
  • Writer's pictureRosie

Home


Last fall we moved from a beautiful house in a beautiful neighborhood to move to a 40 year old neglected manufactured home. I was...embarrassed and convinced we were a little crazy. I mean, two acres is nice, but why did we choose to move our family into a yellow 1978 double wide?


A few months later and I still love it here. I haven't felt this at home since I was a kid in my parents house. I wake up each and every day grateful that we took a huge leap of faith and moved.


We do not plan to live in this forever since we would like to one day build our "forever home" on this land. But for now (and for the foreseeable future) we love this little house on wheels (I don't actually know if it still has it's wheels or not...I'm too scared to look behind the metal "skirt").


It's cozy. We're able to heat using only our wood stove.


They layout is amazing. It was not until we moved in that I realized how amazing the layout is. It's not huge (1900 square feet), but there is enough room for us all to have our own space without feeling too isolated.


We have two acres in a beautiful location.


Our neighbors are the nicest group of people you'll ever meet (but they're not too close...).


I live in the country and I have a winery and two you-pick berry farms within walking distance, but I can be the heart of Salem in 20 minutes.


This move improved our financial situation immensely. We're no longer stretched thin financially each month. I'm able to focus on staying home with my kids which is what we all want.


We get to have chickens, a huge vegetable garden, a berry patch, and lots of space


There's something about this place that I can't put into words, but it's home and I love it.


Before we moved in I couldn't wait to build. I was stressed out trying to figure out how we could build quickly! But once we fixed this place up and actually moved in, it turns out I love it. There are, obviously, a few issues and it's not a perfect place, but what house is? Building doesn't seem quite as pressing as it once did and we've decided to just live here for a few years. In the meantime we're going to build our little farm, have fun as a family, and plan our dream home.


I shared the before pictures in this post so here are a few pictures from Christmas when we were finally pretty settled in. It's not exactly "pinterest-worthy," but I hope you see all that I see in these pictures. It is a home filled with love and creativity.





38 views0 comments
bottom of page