top of page
  • Writer's pictureRosie

One seam at a time

Updated: Jul 16, 2020











I've been sewing for a long time. My mom taught me when I was pretty young and my friend Melisa, owner of Stitchology, gave me some lessons in garment sewing back when we lived in Albuquerque, but recently I've been sewing like a madwoman. I can't stop. I don't know what it is, but I keep finding patterns that I love and (somewhat surprisingly) I love the finished product even more.


With two little kids around and a list of chores three pages long I'm not the fastest seamstress, but I've discovered that if I just put in a few minutes here and there sewing when I can I can actually get quite a bit accomplished.


I started with a Dottie Angel apron dress (Simplicity #8230). Which looks cute alone, but will be equally comfy over a long sleeve shirt and leggings. The armholes are huge since it's meant to be layered, but I just wore a cami underneath and I can actually pull the fabric over enough to nurse which is handy right now.


Then I sewed a Gypsum Skirt from Sew Liberated. It was tricky sewing with a slippery fabric and some new techniques, but her instructions were clear and easy to follow. I finished it and love it even with a wonky hem. I made two more in view B which were much faster and I love the in-seam pockets.


Turns out I really love Dottie Angel's "granny chic" style so I made two more of her patterns. A wrap tunic (Simplicity #8186) which I can't wait to layer over jeans with a cardigan in the cooler weather and a linen dress with big pockets (Simplicity #1080).


I've sewn a couple things for the kids too. Baby girl loved her reversible Petal Dress (from Twig + Tale) so much that I made another. I love the button and the little buddy popping out of the pocket.


Little Man got a pair of Parsley Pants (Made by Rae) with some Paw Patrol pouch pockets and a button-up out of rescue vehicle fabric (he chose the fabric and the buttons).


Most of my fabric is from Joann's or Fabric.com, but the orange fabric for wrap tunic and the blue petal dress with little kids are both from Stitchology.

5 views0 comments
bottom of page