top of page
  • Writer's pictureRosie

Our New(ish) House (aka: The Grossest House Ever)

We’ve been daydreaming of a place away from town and with a little space for a while now and we were able to get an amazing deal on a property in a lovely location. The only problem? Thecmanufactured home on sight was neglected and absolutely disgusting.


I’ll get to the before pics, but first I want to show you why we fell in love with the location. This is our backyard and views of our neighbor - a lovely winery!

Alright. You ready? Let’s start with the outside!


If this doesn’t look safe for two young kids, I don’t know what is! Haha. We've fixed the front ramp of death so it's not nearly as dangerous as it was. The previous owners were kind enough to leave us a giant trash heap….SO exciting! It's gone now, thank goodness!

One reason we bought the property was for the shop. My husband is very handy and can do

almost any house project I can think up. He also loves to do woodworking which means the

man needs a shop. It is in good shape with electric & water, but it’s a little rough around the

edges and filled with junk. My favorite part about having a designated shop is that now I get to park my car IN THE GARAGE. It’s so luxurious, especially on those cold, rainy days of winter when I’m getting two kids loaded up.


Ready to see the inside? Please put on your gas mask (you’ll need it).

This is honestly how I entered the house the first few weeks we owned it. Yes, I am dramatic, but the smell was so horrendous even my normally tolerant husband couldn’t handle it.


This is the main part of the house. It was all this colorful and while I'm a fan of color, this much variety and neon gave me a headache. My Favorite “feature" the above the stove they had a bathroom fan with a plastic dryer vent (held in place by a Rockstar can) in stead of an actual oven hood. The rest of the house was equally colorful and disgusting, but I’ll just let you use your imagination.


So, how do you solve this problem? You have a GIANT dumpster delivered and you hire the lovely women of Dirty Girls, LLC. They were so reasonably priced and did a fantastic job.


Once the crew filled the dumpster (there was a lot of garbage, plus we had them rip out the old carpet & the new laminate flooring that the previous owners installed…and then let their dogs pee all over. I really don’t get people.) We took over to paint and install new flooring. The transformation is aaaaaamazing. I’ll share the “during” & after pics soon.


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Home

bottom of page